29th Research Symposium 2017

Our 29th Annual Research Symposium took place on Thursday, May 27, 2017. The research day offers an excellent opportunity for faculty and staff of the CHRC to present the ground-breaking research that they undertake. Following the poster presentations, the trainee competition awards were given to Corrie Alonzo, Florencia Martinez and Sarah Miller for their outstanding work this past year, and Alice Hoyt received the Kendig Award for 2017. Dr. William G Teague was also awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for Pediatric Science. The day concluded with a small-group discussion led by this year’s keynote speaker, Patricio E. Ray, MD, a professor of pediatrics at George Washington University School of Medicine and The Children’s National Health System. Dr. Ray is renowned for establishing one the first pediatric nephrology research programs in the country to study the pathogenesis of HIV-associated renal diseases, and, in particular, for his work on the elucidation of the mechanisms by which HIV-1 induces renal injury in children. His talk, entitled “The challenges of becoming a translational research scientist in the next decade” was extremely productive and we were honored to have him speak at one of our principal annual events. Congratulations to all of our faculty and staff for the prestigious work they have done, and continue to do, in clinical, translational, and basic science research throughout the medical community.

NBC 29 Featured Article

29th Annual Research Symposium Program