Advisory Board

Current Members

  • W. Heywood Fralin, Roanoke, VA
  • Mrs. J. Randolph Hutcheson (Rossie), Richmond, VA
  • Talfourd H. Kemper, Esquire, Roanoke, VA
  • Kenneth C. Laughon, Roanoke, VA
  • John Macfarlane, Greenwich, CT
  • Bittle Porterfield, III, Roanoke, VA
  • James C. Wheat, III, Richmond, VA

Our advisory board includes influential business and community leaders who dedicate time, expertise, and financial support to help achieve these goals and to educate the public on the importance of immunology research.

Background of the Center

Founded through the generosity of Beirne B. Carter, a Virginia businessman of great vision and generosity, the Beirne B. Carter Center for Immunology Research serves as a catalyst for developing new ways to diagnose and treat human diseases. Victor Engelhard, PhD, directs the Carter Center, assisted by a scientific advisory board and working in collaboration with the dean of the UVA School of Medicine. In 2009, the Carter Center moved into the Carter-Harrison Research Building. With 40,000 square feet dedicated to immunology research, the new state-of-the-art building quadruples the Carter Center’s previous facilities and allows for significant expansion of programs.

In pursuing its goals, the Carter Center utilizes funds from a variety of sources, including an endowment established by Beirne B. Carter for general support, recruitment of new faculty, and for the Beirne B. Carter Professorship in Immunology. These funds supplement the research and training grants and contracts earned by faculty from a variety of federal, state, and private funding agencies.